Landolt Astronomical Observatory | LSU Physics

Landolt Astronomical Observatory

Public Observing Schedule

Once a month, on the Saturday (or sometimes Sunday) nearest the First Quarter Moon, with a "rain date" on the next day (Sunday) at the same time of day as Saturday. If the weather is mostly cloudy, there will not be any observing, as there will not be any celestial body to see.

Admission is free and you need not bring anything. The observatory was built in the late 1930's and is not handicapped accessible.

Spring 2020 Dates Time Main Targets
Saturday, Feb. 1 7:00 - 8:00 p.m. TBA
Saturday, Feb. 29 7:00 - 8:00 p.m. TBA

 

2019 Fall Dates Time Main Targets
Saturday, September 7 8:00 - 9:00 p.m. Moon, Jupiter, and Saturn
Sunday, October 6 7:30 - 8:30 p.m. Moon and Saturn
Saturday, November 2 7:00 - 8:00 p.m. Moon and Saturn
Saturday, December 7 7:00 - 8:00 p.m. Moon

 

2019 Spring Dates Time Main Targets
Saturday, January 12 7:00 - 8:00 p.m. first quarter moon, binary stars, double stars, the Pleiades, and the great nebula is Orion
Saturday, February 16 7:00 - 8:00 p.m. The moon and the Orion Nebula
Saturday, March 16 8:00 - 9:00 p.m. The moon and the Orion Nebula
Saturday, April 6 8:00 - 9:00 p.m. The moon and the Orion Nebula

 

For more information and updates on how weather may affect the public nights, please follow us on
Twitter
or Facebook.

Directions to the Observatory

The Landolt Astronomical Observatory is located on the LSU campus on the roof of Nicholson Hall on Tower Dr. immediately west of the LSU Student Union (across Tower Dr.). Convenient parking is located in the lot immediately south of Nicholson Hall (this lot is between Nicholson Hall and Howe-Russell Geoscience Complex). Parking in the lot is free and open after business hours and on weekends. Entry to the building should be by the door in the middle of the south side of Nicholson Hall. People will then be directed to climb the stairs up to the roof.

 

Facebook
Twitter @LAOatLSU