Manship Prize

The award, first presented in 1998, is funded by an endowment from the Douglas L. Manship family to recognize exemplary use of multimedia technology in the service of public affairs. This reflects the School’s focus and demonstrated leadership in the area of media and public affairs. The prize is sponsored by the LSU Manship School of Mass Communication and awarded by the School’s Board of Visitors. 

2015 Manship Prize Winner - Dan Gillmore

Dan Gillmor, professional journalist and nationally acknowledged leader in the evolving intersection of technology and journalism, has been selected as the 2015 recipient of the Manship Prize. Gillmor currently teaches digital media literacy and promotes entrepreneurship at Arizona State University’s Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication. He received the prize, a $1000 honorarium, at the 1913 Society Reception in the Journalism Building’s Holliday Forum on Friday, October 2.  

The Manship Prize is the only national award given by the LSU Manship School of Mass Communication and recognizes an individual or organization based in the United States for their exemplary use of digital media and technology in the service of public affairs.  

Gillmor is credited with helping provoke conversation and change in regard to the effect of technology on journalism. Currently he is focused on the challenge that arises between the exercise of First Amendment rights and the right to privacy in digital media.

Previous Winners

  • Michael Bloomberg, founder of Bloomberg News
  • Anthony Ridder, chair and CEO of Knight-Ridder
  • Charles Benton, chair and CEO of Benton Foundation
  • Berry Cooper, founder of
  • Reid Ashe, COO of Media General
  • Brian Lamb, founder of C-SPAN The Times-Picayune and WWL-TV for respective coverage of Hurricane Katrina
  • Joe Trippi, political strategist
  • Bill Adair, editor of PolitiFact
  • Jan Schafer, executive director of J-Lab Investigative News Network