Distinguished Alumnus Award

The Distinguished Alumnus Award is a means to recognize alumni of the Louisiana State University School of Veterinary Medicine for outstanding professional and personal achievements. The award consists of an individual plaque and the placement of the honoree’s name on a group plaque in the School of Veterinary Medicine.


Any veterinarian who is in possession of the DVM degree from LSU is eligible for the award.


Candidates will be recognized for their accomplishments in veterinary medicine, service to the SVM, and/or contributions to the community through public service.

Consider service to the community, to animals, to people, to the profession and to the intersections between them.


The Committee will review nominations and vote on the recipient(s). The Committee reserves the right to not select a recipient every year. The Committee will be made up of the Dean, the Associate Dean for Veterinary Education and Student Affairs, the Associate Dean for Diversity and Faculty Affairs, and two past Distinguished Alumni. 

Nominations for Distinguished Alumnus will be due by October 30 each year.

Presentation will be made at the annual Winter Meeting of the Louisiana Veterinary Medical Association during the LSU SVM alumni reception. Costs of hotel and airfare for the recipient will be covered.

The Distinguished Alumnus will be invited to graduation to be the LSU SVM alumni representative.

To nominate someone for the Distinguished Alumnus Award, please submit name and a letter of why they are being nominated. Nominations may be mailed, faxed or emailed. 


Gretchen Morgan
Director of Alumni and Donor Relations
LSU School of Veterinary Medicine
Baton Rouge, LA 70803
Phone (225) 578-9565
Fax (225) 578-9916


Past Recipients of the Distinguished Alumnus Award

Year Awarded Recipient Graduation Year
1990 Dr. Robert Lewis 1977
1991 Drs. Larry McKaskill, Mark Mikelonis and Jim Floyd 1981, 1988 and 1981, respectively
1992 Dr. Allen Roussel 1977
2003 Dr. Mike Strain 1983
2004 Dr. Alfred Stevens 1979
2005 Dr. Gregory Rich 1985
2006 Dr. Mary Boudreaux 1979
2007 Dr. Robert "Bob"Simmons 1977
2008 Drs. Mary Louise Martin-Klaucke and Debra Sellon 1982 and 1983, respectively
2009 Dr. William James 1980
2010 Drs. Sherril Green and J. Trenton McClure 1985 and 1989, respectively
2011 Dr. Rick Alleman 1980
2012 Dr. Tom Tully 1986
2013 Dr. Carol Foil 1978
2014 No award given  
2015 Dr. Egeenee Daniels 1986
2016 Dr. John Dunn 1997
2017 Dr. Kenneth Arceneaux 1993



Dr. George Robinson

Dr. John Kelley