2011 Torchbearer Award Recipients

2011 Torchbearer Awards for Leadership in IT Advancement

Robert Doolos, University Registrar, has served the campus in an exemplary fashion for 3 decades. He has been a vocal champion for students record privacy, architected IT systems for the preservation and management of student records, and been our staunchest supporter. Through his leadership this past year we have deployed myProxy, a resource which enables students to provide limited access to parents for the purpose of paying bills and even seeing final grades, added the “waitlist drop” option to course waitlisting, and developed necessary contract language  with our Security & Policy group to handle outsourced services.  Currently he is serving on the institution’s Enterprise Task Force to identify the resources we will need to make our administrative systems ready for future generations of faculty, staff and students.  

Elaine Maccio, assistant professor of Social Work, in the words of her nominator “exemplifies the dedication, courage and leadership the very term torchbearer brings to mind.” Last spring, Dr. Maccio volunteered to teach her Social Work course completely online using Adobe Connect as we worked through delays, connectivity issues and unforeseen problems. Throughout the transition period, she remained positive, flexible, and focused on finding creative solutions rather than dwelling on the obstacles we faced deploying this new technology.  Her close contact and detailed communications with the FTC enabled us to track and solve technical problems, making the Adobe Connect product a viable teaching resource.  A true pioneer, this individual has encouraged and inspired others to teach online using Adobe Connect. She has been both generous and enthusiastic in sharing her experiences , and has been a guest speaker at FTC Coffee Talks throughout the year. Her contributions and efforts were truly valuable in the implementation, promotion and continued improvement  of the new Adobe Connect service at LSU.