Legislative Branch

The Legislative Branch, or Student Senate, is comprised of Student Senators who are elected to represent each of LSU's senior colleges. The Student Senate is led by an elected Speaker and Speaker pro tempore, and Legislative Staff appointed by the Speaker.

 James Mickler

James Mickler


David Hunt 

David Hunt

Speaker pro tempore


Senate Meetings: Wednesdays, 6:30 PM, LSU Student Union Capital Chamber

Spring 2018 Schedule:

  • Student Senate Orientation - January 17
  • Legislative Week 1 - January 24
  • Legislative Week 2 - January 31
  • Legislative Week 3 - February 7
  • Legislative Week 4 - February 21
  • Legislative Week 5 - February 28
  • Legislative Week 6 - March 7
  • Legislative Week 7 - March 14
  • Legislative Week 8 - March 21
  • Legislative Week 9 - April 4
  • Legislative Week 10 - April 11
  • Legislative Week 11 - April 18

Legislative Staff

The Senate is aided by a Legislative Staff, which consists of students appointed by the Speaker to assist the Senate in carrying out its many duties. The Legislative Staff includes a Secretary, Undersecretary, Parliamentarian, Sergeant-at-Arms, and Communications Chair. The staff advisor for the Legislative Branch is Michelle Lowery.


Marissa Gauthreaux

          Marissa Gauthreaux 



                Julianne Willey


Lauren Scott

        Communications Chair:
               Lauren Scott













Lauren A


          Lauren Accardo

Christina Black

  Director of Development:

         Christina Black

Logan D

  Director of Programming:

        Logan Duplessis


 The Parliamentarian Position for LSU Student Senate is VACANT.